It wouldn’t be December without a cup of eggnog to toast to the holidays. And yet, from its ingredients to its history, eggnog can be a beverage of mystery to even its most enthusiastic fans.
Brush up on your eggnog knowledge with our list of little-known facts about the holiday beverage, and then share these new tidbits with friends and family at your next holiday party.
Americans’ obsession with eggnog is weighing down on them.
You might know that Americans drink a lot of eggnog during the holidays, but what you might not know is exactly how much is “a lot.”. According to a study by Indiana University, the total amount of eggnog that Americans drink each year works out to about 135 pounds. To put that in perspective, that’s about 53,730 calories of eggnog, or about 700 chocolate chip cookies.
President Washington was an eggnog master.
Eggnog may not be the fanciest of drinks, but that doesn’t mean that it hasn’t been sipped by people of high status, including America’s first president. As history would have it, George Washington was a major fan of eggnog. So much so, in fact, that he was known for his very own eggnog recipe that used quite the medley of liquor, including whiskey, rum, and brandy.
There is such a thing as National Eggnog Day.
And, no, it’s not every day of the holiday season, though it may as well be. In fact, National Eggnog Day falls on the same day as Christmas Eve. That not only means that you have a responsibility to honor eggnog by loading up on Christmas Eve – ahem, National Eggnog Day – but that you also get two special days rolled into one. We’ll drink (eggnog) to that!
Eggnog does not discriminate against our dairy-free friends.
While dairy is a major ingredient in eggnog – you can’t make it without a hefty supply of cream or milk – those who follow a dairy-free diet don’t have to pass on the nog. By swapping in coconut milk, almond milk, soy milk, or any other dairy alternative, several eggnog recipes cater to all diets, so everybody can satisfy their holiday craving.
Eggnog has the power to spark a revolution.
Well, maybe not a full-on revolution, but it has been at the heart of some civil unrest in the past. On the night of December 24, 1826 at West Point Military Academy in New York, the smuggling of whiskey
into the academy to make eggnog for the holiday party (alcohol had been banned
at the academy) erupted into chaos that left a trail of ruin, including
shattered windows and destroyed stairways. The events of that Christmas Eve,
which aren’t the most well-known, came to be referred to as the Eggnog Riot.
You get less egg and more nog for your buck.
While eggnog’s name may suggest that eggs are a primary ingredient, taking a closer look at the label reveals otherwise. The truth is that, in order for eggnog to be labeled as such, the FDA only requires a minimum of 1 percent of the beverage to come from egg yolk solids. Meanwhile, ingredients like butterfat, for example, are required at a minimum of 6 percent. Though the more we think about solid egg yolks in our beverage, the less distraught we are over that ratio.
You can chew eggnog.
Except not really, because that would be gross. But there is such a thing as eggnog flavored gum, which is kind of the same thing. It doesn’t end there; you can also find eggnog flavored marshmallows, taffy, popcorn, tea, cake, waffles, ice cream and even candy corn. So basically, you don’t necessarily need to be sipping on eggnog to get your eggnog fix for the season.
About Tamara Rahoumi
Tamara Rahoumi is a writer on The Path Editorial Team. She is a graduate of Rutgers University and is currently pursuing a master’s degree in magazine journalism at NYU. Her passion for wellness always has her researching the latest fitness trends, experimenting with recipes from superfood cookbooks, and working towards an overall healthier and happier lifestyle. In addition to reading her articles on The Path, you can follow her adventures on her lifestyle blog, The Curly Nomad.